Mr. Dan Brouillette Secretary of Energy United States Department of Energy 1000 Independence Ave., SW Washington, D.C. 20585

Ms. Lisa E. Gordon-Hagerty Administrator National Nuclear Security Administration 1000 Independence Ave., SW Washington, D.C. 20585

Via e-mail to <u>lanlsweissa@nnsa.doe.gov</u>, <u>The.Secretary(@.hq.do</u> <u>e.gov</u>, <u>and lisa.Gordon-Hagerty@nnsa.doe.gov</u>

Re: Request for two-month extension of the April 24, 2020 comment deadline for the draft Supplement Analysis to the 2008 Site-Wide Environmental Impact Statement for continued operations of Los Alamos National Laboratory (DOEIEIS-0380- SA-06) in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dear Secretary Brouillette and Administrator Gordon-Hagerty:

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, we request that the April 24, 2020 deadline for commenting on the draft Supplement Analysis (SA) for the 2008 Site-Wide Environmental Impact Statement (SWEIS) for continued operations of the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) be extended for two months, until June 19, 2020.

The Supplement Analysis is of great importance because it examines the environmental impacts associated with expanded plutonium pit production at LANL and addresses whether or not LANL must prepare a new or supplemental environmental impact statement to the existing 2008 Site-Wide Environmental Impact Statement (SWEIS) for LANL.

We believe further environmental analysis is warranted at this time to address environmental effects that were not contemplated back in 2008. Therefore, it will be necessary for us to prepare detailed comments to the Supplement Analysis to explain our reasoning. This is not reasonably possible right now because of the continued spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.

We therefore respectfully request that the April 24, 2020 deadline for commenting on the draft Supplement Analysis be extended for two months, until June 19, 2020.

Contact person: Jay Coghlan, Nuclear Watch New Mexico, 505.989.7342, jay@nukewatch.org

Sincerely,

Tom Allen Arroyo Seco, NM

Joni Arends Concerned Citizens for Nuclear Safety Santa Fe, NM

AnJanette Brush Taos, NM

Glenn Carol Nuclear Watch South Atlanta, GA

Tom Carpenter Hanford Challenge Seattle, WA

Tom Clements SRS Watch Columbia, SC

Jay Coghlan Nuclear Watch New Mexico Santa Fe, NM

Vina Colley PRESS Portsmouth, OH

Jean Greene Arroyo Seco, NM

Marilyn Hoff El Prado, NM

Richard Johnson Santa Fe, NM

Ralph Hutchison Oak Ridge Environmental Peace Alliance Oak Ridge, TN

Kevin Kamps Beyond Nuclear Takoma Park, MD

Marylia Kelley Tri-Valley CAREs Livermore, CA Hans Kristensen Federation of American Scientists Washington, DC

Scott Kovac Nuclear Watch New Mexico Santa Fe, NM

Erich Kuerschner Economists for Peace and Security El Prado, NM

Robyn McColloch Arroyo Seco, NM

Dave McCoy Citizen Action Albuquerque, NM

Judith Mohling Rocky Mountain Peace and Justice Center, Boulder, CO

Charles and Elaine Montaño Santa Fe, NM

Karen Pettit Ranchos de Taos, NM

Sasha Pyle Santa Fe, NM

Deborah Reade Santa Fe, NM

Mary Riseley Santa Fe, NM

Kathy Sanchez TEWA Women United Santa Cruz, NM

Alexander and Suzanne Schwartz Taoseños for Peaceful and Sustainable Futures Taos, NM

Martha Shepp El Rito, New Mexico Jerry Stein Peace Farm Amarillo, TX

Jean Stevens Ranchos de Taos, NM

Cathie Sullivan Tesuque, NM

Yasmeen Silvia Beyond the Bomb New York City, NY Bill Tiwald Albuquerque, NM

Beata Tsosie TEWA Women United Santa Cruz, NM

Darlene Vigil Ranchos de Taos, NM

Stephen Young Union of Concerned Scientists Washington, DC

Lee Webster Santa Fe, NM

CC: Sen. Tom Udall Sen. Martin Heinrich Rep. Ben Ray Lujan Rep. Deb Haaland Rep. Xochitl Torres-Small