DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Public Hearing Agenda Benchmarking Best Practices in Management of Aging Safety Infrastructure

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) Headquarters 625 Indiana Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004 Room 352 Wednesday, August 14, 2024

<u>Goal</u>: Gather information from relevant external organizations on best practices in the management of aging safety infrastructure to inform the development of potential safety improvements to the Department of Energy's programs.

Morning Panelists

- Mr. Nathan Anderson, Director, Natural Resources and Environment, Government Accountability Office (GAO)
- Ms. Allison Bawden, Director, Natural Resources and Environment, GAO
- Mr. David Marroni, Director, Physical Infrastruture, GAO
- Mr. Todd Anselmi, Working Group Chair, American Nuclear Society (ANS)

Afternoon Panelists

- Mr. Brian Smith, Director, Division of New and Renewed Licenses, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
- Mr. Peter Dodgion, Chief, Asset Management Branch, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
- Dr. Joel Carney, Assistant Administrator, Office of Strategic Infrastructure, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
- Dr. Erik Weiser, Director, Facilities and Real Estate Division, NASA

Schedule:

9:00 am	Chair's Opening Remarks	Chair Joyce L. Connery
9:10 am	Vice Chair's Remarks	Vice Chair Thomas A. Summers
9:20 am	Board's Staff Statement	Mr. Timothy J. Dwyer Technical Director, DNFSB
9:35 am	Seat Morning Panel	Chair Joyce L. Connery
9:40 am	GAO Statements	Mr. David Marroni Ms. Allison Bawden Mr. Nathan Anderson
10.00 am	CAO Discussion	

10:00 am GAO Discussion

10:15 am	ANS Statement	Mr. Todd Anselmi
10:25 am	ANS Discussion	
10:40 am	Morning Panel Discussion	
11:00 am	Adjourn for Lunch	
1:00 pm	Reconvene for Afternoon Panel	Chair Joyce L. Connery
1:05 pm	NRC Statement	Mr. Brian Smith
1:20 pm	NRC Discussion	
1:35 pm	USACE Statements	Mr. Peter Dodgion
1:45 pm	USACE Discussion	
2:00 pm	NASA Statement	Dr. Joel Carney Dr. Erik Weiser
2:10 pm	NASA Discussion	
2:25 pm	Break	
2:40 pm	Afternoon Panel Discussion	
3:00 pm	Vice Chair's Closing Remarks	Vice Chair Thomas A. Summers
3:10 pm	Chair's Closing Remarks	Chair Joyce L. Connery
3:20 pm	Adjourn	